Grading Michigan Schools http://michiganradio.org en Financial Tipping Point http://michiganradio.org/post/financial-tipping-point <p><b>Nov. 5, 2007</b><br />In the first of our series called <i>Grading Michigan Schools</i>, we start with a look at the school funding crisis affecting many districts. School administrators say they are running out of money to adequately prepare students for the challenges and opportunities of the future.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 15:50:11 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8287 at http://michiganradio.org Financial Tipping Point Turning Around a Troubled School http://michiganradio.org/post/turning-around-troubled-school <p><strong>Nov. 6, 2007</strong><br />In Part Two of our <i>Grading Michigan Schools</i> series, we look at one of the 20 schools entering their sixth or seventh year of failing to meet federal progress benchmarks.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 15:45:35 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8286 at http://michiganradio.org Turning Around a Troubled School Districts May Turn to Consolidation http://michiganradio.org/post/districts-may-turn-consolidation <p><strong><span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span>Nov. 7, 2007</strong><br />Consolidation may help school districts save money and expand courses. But it comes at a high cost.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 15:40:13 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8285 at http://michiganradio.org Districts May Turn to Consolidation Ready Or Not, Here Comes College http://michiganradio.org/post/ready-or-not-here-comes-college <p><strong>Nov. 8, 2007</strong><br />A high school diploma should mean a graduate has mastered the basics. But that hasn&#39;t been the case in Michigan - where many college and university students are learning subjects they should have mastered in high school. Mon, 16 Jul 2012 15:28:57 +0000 Sarah Hulett 8284 at http://michiganradio.org Ready Or Not, Here Comes College Shop Rat Nation http://michiganradio.org/post/shop-rat-nation <p><strong>Nov. 9, 2007</strong><br /><b>Lester Graham</b><br />The school system in this country in general has been going away from the vo-tech and shop classes. But one program provides an opportunity for college prep students to get some shop experience.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 15:12:54 +0000 Lester Graham 8283 at http://michiganradio.org Shop Rat Nation Commentary: NCLB is Failing http://michiganradio.org/post/commentary-nclb-failing <p><strong>Nov. 12, 2007</strong><br />President and Founder of Early Learning Foundation says No Child Left Behind created unintended consequences.</p><p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 15:05:24 +0000 Dr. Bob Sornson 8224 at http://michiganradio.org Commentary: NCLB is Failing Pilot Schools in Grand Rapids http://michiganradio.org/post/pilot-schools-grand-rapids <p><strong>Nov. 12, 2007</strong><br />Grand Rapids Public Schools is announcing the creation of pilot schools to specialize in areas such as math and the envsironment. It&#39;s a result of a landmark public-private partnership. Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:43:06 +0000 Kaomi Goetz 8223 at http://michiganradio.org Pilot Schools in Grand Rapids Learning Must Start From Birth http://michiganradio.org/post/learning-must-start-birth <p><strong>Nov. 13, 2007</strong><br />Low-income children from disadvantaged families usually do worse in school than other children. The No Child Left Behind Act says eliminating that achievement gap is a primary goal. One preschool in Ann Arbor prepares poor children for school as early as age 2. Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:27:04 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8221 at http://michiganradio.org Learning Must Start From Birth Special Ed Numbers Plummet When Teachers Ask For Help Early http://michiganradio.org/post/special-ed-numbers-plummet-when-teachers-ask-help-early <p><strong>Nov. 14, 2007</strong><br />Asking for help used to be considered a sign of failure in teaching. It&#39;s encouraged in one district. Teacher support teams have cut special education numbers in half. Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:22:32 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8220 at http://michiganradio.org Special Ed Numbers Plummet When Teachers Ask For Help Early The Math Problem http://michiganradio.org/post/math-problem <p><span class="article-content"><span><strong>Nov. 15, 2007</strong><br />Arithmetic and algebra haven&#39;t changed for centuries. So why do kids - and adults - have such a hard time with math? One mathematician says he thinks he knows the answer.</span></span></p><p><span class="article-content"><span> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:17:42 +0000 Sarah Hulett 8219 at http://michiganradio.org The Math Problem Bill Schmidt on the "Math Crisis" http://michiganradio.org/post/bill-schmidt-math-crisis-0 <p><strong>Nov. 15, 2007</strong><br />Bill Schmidt is well known in education circles for his research into the academic content in K-12 schools, testing, and the effects of curriculum on academic achievement. He spoke with Michigan Radio&#39;s Sarah Hulett, who asked him whether he believes a &quot;math crisis&quot; exists.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 14:01:49 +0000 Sarah Hulett 8218 at http://michiganradio.org Bill Schmidt on the "Math Crisis" High Schools Struggle with Curriculum Standards http://michiganradio.org/post/high-schools-struggle-curriculum-standards <p><strong>Nov. 16, 2007</strong><br /><b>Rick Pluta</b><br />Some Michigan High Schools don&#39;t have the teaching resources to meet new curriculum standards</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 16:26:42 +0000 8093 at http://michiganradio.org Shifting Demographics http://michiganradio.org/post/shifting-demographics <p><strong>Nov. 20, 2007</strong><br /><b>Sarah Hulett</b><br />Several school districts in Metro Detroit have flipped from majority-white to majority black in a very short time. That&#39;s creating new opportunities for integration in once-lily-white communities. But it&#39;s also creating some tough situations for districts where the teaching staff is all-white, or close to it.&nbsp; Fri, 29 Jun 2012 16:12:23 +0000 Sarah Hulett 8090 at http://michiganradio.org Shifting Demographics The Sea of Sameness http://michiganradio.org/post/sea-sameness <p><b>Nov. 21, 2007</b><br /><b>Sarah Hulett</b><br />A lot of students grow up going to schools where the other kids look just like they do. That means they might not be as prepared as adults to interact with people who are different from them Thu, 28 Jun 2012 15:40:33 +0000 8066 at http://michiganradio.org The Sea of Sameness Islands of Success at DPS http://michiganradio.org/post/islands-success-dps <p><b>Nov. 29, 2007</b><br /><b>Tracy Samilton</b><br />Detroit students score far below the state average in reading and math. But within Michigan&#39;s largest school district, a few schools are providing a high-quality education, despite the odds.&nbsp; Thu, 29 Nov 2007 15:27:41 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8015 at http://michiganradio.org Islands of Success at DPS The Dropout Dilemma http://michiganradio.org/post/dropout-dilemma <p><b>Nov. 28, 2007</b><br />There are disagreements about just how bad the dropout rates are in many school districts. But what&#39;s being done to fix the problem? Wed, 28 Nov 2007 15:58:22 +0000 Sarah Hulett 8018 at http://michiganradio.org The Dropout Dilemma Unschooling http://michiganradio.org/post/unschooling <p><b>Nov. 27, 2007</b><br />Some parents have rejected the traditional school setting for their children&#39;s education. For unschoolers, the classroom is the world around them. Tue, 27 Nov 2007 16:08:00 +0000 Sarah Hulett 8019 at http://michiganradio.org Unschooling International Baccalaureate Schools http://michiganradio.org/post/international-baccalaureate-schools <p><strong>Nov. 26, 2007</strong><br />International Baccalaureate Schools teach the same curriculum all around the world. There is one in Michigan and could soon be more.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 26 Nov 2007 16:12:18 +0000 Tracy Samilton 8020 at http://michiganradio.org International Baccalaureate Schools Grading Michigan Schools: Charter Schools Help Education http://michiganradio.org/post/grading-michigan-schools-charter-schools-help-education <p><strong>Commentary: Charter Schools Help Education</strong><br /><b>Nov. 23, 2007</b><br /><b>Andrew Coulson</b><br />The Director of The Cato Institute Center for Educational Freedom says public educators should not fear charter schools. Fri, 23 Nov 2007 05:00:00 +0000 8065 at http://michiganradio.org Grading Michigan Schools: Charter Schools Help Education Schools of Choice and Urban Districts http://michiganradio.org/post/schools-choice-and-urban-districts <p><strong>Nov. 19, 2007</strong><br /><b>Kaomi Goetz</b><br />State and local schools of choice programs are affecting large, urban school districts, but opinions differ on whether that&#39;s good or bad.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 19 Nov 2007 16:23:05 +0000 8092 at http://michiganradio.org Schools of Choice and Urban Districts