Podcasts & RSS Feeds
Most Active Stories
- No, Chinese investors aren't 'buying up Detroit' – but they do have an eye on the Motor City
- The average Michigan family needs $52,330 a year to 'make ends meet'
- If Arizona's bill to discriminate surprises you, you won't believe what's legal in Michigan
- What all the snow and ice will mean for Great Lakes water levels
- Here are our 10 favorite photos of what your winter looks like
Thu October 10, 2013
Don't call us, we'll call you -- maybe
Accident victims and their families would be shielded from opportunistic lawyers under a bill approved by the Michigan House Wednesday.
Representative Joe Graves says the law would require a 30-day waiting period before a victim could be solicited for services.
Graves says informants who work at hospitals or ambulance companies sometimes tip off personal injury attorneys.
"You go direct to the person and try to get them to sign on the dotted line, before they're ready -- you pressure them -- this backs it off a little bit," Graves says.
Violating the waiting period would be a misdemeanor with a possible $15,000 fine.
For more information, see HB4770 and HB4771.