Gov. Snyder repeals Michigan's mandatory motorcycle helmet law
Michigan is the 31st state to allow motorcyclists to ride without helmets. Gov. Rick Snyder signed the bill to lift the requirement on riders 21 years and older last night.
The new law allows motorcyclists 21 years and older to choose whether to wear a helmet. They must carry an additional $20,000 in insurance for "first-party medical benefits," and have passed a motorcycle safety course or have had their motorcycle endorsement for at least two years.
Motorcycle passengers must also be 21 years or older and carry the additional insurance.
You can read the law here.
Gov. Snyder issued this statement after signing the bill:
“While many motorcyclists will continue to wear helmets, those who choose not to deserve the latitude to make their own informed judgments as long as they meet the requirements of this new law,” Gov. Rick Snyder said. “There is no substitute for proper training, education and awareness when it comes to operating any motor vehicle. We must continue working together to keep our roads safe by making sure that everyone who gets behind the wheel of a car or on a motorcycle has the proper skills. Traffic safety is a responsibility shared by all motorists.”
Update 11:57 a.m.
A group supporting Michigan's new helmet law, American Bikers Aiming Toward Education, or ABATE, issued a statement in support of the change in Michigan. Vince Consiglio, President of ABATE said:
“On behalf of all ABATE’s members statewide and motorcyclists around the country who can now travel into Michigan and enjoy this great state with or without a helmet, I want to extend our gratitude to all of the legislative officials and Governor Rick Snyder who courageously supported freedom in the face of an onslaught of baseless and emotional arguments perpetuated by our opponents,” Consiglio added.
*Share your thoughts with us. What do you think about the motorcycle helmet law?