Opinion

Opinion
1:07 pm
Tue August 21, 2012

Hey NPR, what about those 500 economists for Romney?

One of the best things about blogging for Michigan Radio is the pleasure of introducing you to an idea or a person that network listeners and viewers of the website haven’t seen anywhere else in public radio.

When I introduced myself to Michigan Radio’s webpage readers, I suggested that at one level, NPR news is hard to criticize; what you hear in broadcasts is mostly beyond reproach.

But sometimes a larger story awaits, in what you don’t hear on the air or see on the websites. A case in point:  Economists for Romney

Economists for Romney is a group of 500 national economists, who support for Mitt Romney’s economic plan, signing a public letter to the nation that begins, “We enthusiastically endorse Governor Mitt Romney’s economic plan to create jobs and restore economic growth while returning America to its tradition of economic freedom. The plan is based on proven principles: a more contained and less intrusive federal government, a greater reliance on the private sector, a broad expansion of opportunity without government favors for special interests, and respect for the rule of law including the decision-making authority of states and localities.”

Read more
Opinion
8:42 am
Fri August 10, 2012

Citizenship question easiest one to answer when I vote

Charles Brown

When I voted on Tuesday, there were several things I needed to know. 

The toughest thing was figuring out who to vote for among all of the candidates for several obscure township boards and lower-level county offices.  These people do important things, but their work is almost entirely below the radar-level of most media.  Their names, and even the offices they hold, are relatively unknown.  It is sometimes hard to even know, without help from the ballot, whether I’m voting for just one candidate, or “two of five” names, or even all four of just four names on the ballot.

Read more
Opinion
11:57 am
Thu August 9, 2012

Should reporters ask a source if he's gay? News editors disagree.

News Director Vincent Duffy
Michigan Radio

The Boy Scouts of America recently reaffirmed their ban on allowing openly gay boys to participate in Boy Scouts, and openly gay or lesbian adults from being leaders.

(Full disclosure – I was a Boy Scout for many years during my teens, but that was decades before anyone was debating this issue.)

We live in an odd world where what side of the “homosexual agenda” you are on can now be demonstrated not only by your participation in scouts, but also where you buy your chicken sandwich.

Read more
Opinion
1:29 pm
Fri August 3, 2012

What Troy Mayor Janice Daniels can learn from mayors who criticized Chick-fil-A

If I asked the well-informed Michigan Radio listeners to name the mayors of Ann Arbor, Birmingham, Flint and Grand Rapids, and those cities' most critical electoral issues, I expect that very few could do it.

But naming the mayor of Troy, and her most pressing issue, is something most of us can easily do. That is because Troy mayor Janice Daniels is facing a recall election.  And not just any recall; the reason Daniels faces a recall is that last summer, she posted this comment to her own Facebook page:

“I think I am going to throw away my I Love New York carrying bag now that queers can get married there.”

Read more
Opinion
12:19 pm
Thu July 19, 2012

Giving the bad guys ideas

Ambassador Bridge
Vincent Duffy

Last week, a bomb threat called in from Canada shut down the tunnel that runs under the Detroit River between Detroit and Windsor. The tunnel is the second busiest crossing between the United States and Canada. The busiest crossing is the Ambassador Bridge just more than a mile down river. The tunnel was closed to traffic for most of the afternoon while authorities from both countries inspected the tunnel and found no bomb.

Read more
Opinion
9:46 am
Wed July 18, 2012

Let Detroit go bankrupt: The famous line Romney never said

Charles Brown

The four most famous words that Mitt Romney never wrote are, “Let Detroit Go Bankrupt.”

You read that right.  Mitt Romney never wrote those words.  They were the headline of a New York Times op-ed column that was authored by Romney and published in the newspaper on November 18, 2008.

I doubt that most people could accurately recite so much as a sentence of the op-ed that Governor Romney actually wrote in that column.  All that anybody remembers is the headline, which I have discovered was written by a New York Times editor, not Governor Romney.

Read more
Opinion
1:16 pm
Wed July 11, 2012

The President and the Chief Justice: An ironic history

Charles Brown

Of all of the hyper-partisan episodes in the long political career of President Barack Obama, there is one that strikes me as being historically ironic.

In 2005, the then-junior Senator from Illinois voted against the confirmation of U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge John G. Roberts, Jr. as Chief Justice of United States Supreme Court. It turned out to be Justice Roberts whose actions on that court saved President Obama’s signature healthcare legislation.

Read more
Opinion
12:13 pm
Tue July 3, 2012

Confessions of an 'NPR conservative'

Charles Brown is a new commentator/blogger for Michigan Radio.

“NPR Conservative.” 

To some, that term might sound like an oxymoron straight from the writing staff of The Colbert Report.

It happens to be me.

Read more
Commentary
9:00 am
Mon May 28, 2012

Commentary: Live well and validate the sacrifice our veterans made

My guess is that a lot of  people these days are a little shaky about what Memorial Day is all about,  except perhaps in families that have military service in their background.   I think most of us know that it has something to do with honoring the nation’s  war dead. Though I imagine that the numbers of people visiting  cemeteries is probably a pretty small minority. More people decorated veterans’  graves when I was a child.

Read more
Opinion
11:46 am
Thu May 17, 2012

Fact checking David Sedaris: Does comedy need a disclaimer?

WBUR

In my large Irish family, our stories get better with age. It’s not that we lie about what’s happened to us, but when we get together for holidays or family events, we usually tell the same stories and they get better every time.

They start out as true of course, and the people, places and events all stay the same, but over time the funny parts get a little more funny, the dialogue a little more snappy and clever, and the reactions from onlookers a little more outrageous.

Read more

Pages